The good news is that chocolate is good for you!  Of course, like most foods, to get the best from chocolate you should eat it as close as possible to its natural state.  For most of us that means raw cacoa powder and chocolates made from it.  Second best is to eat dark (at least 70%) chocolate and preferably organic and fair trade!  Chocolate contains considerable amounts of magnesium as well as iron, zinc, potassium, vitamin A, E and some vitamins.  Beware the amount of sugar and fat in mass produced chocolate bars however!

A while back I went to a raw chocolate workshop by Tanya Alekseeva of Better Raw and came away with her raw chocolate kit.  I loved the chocolates we made in the workshop, but have been a bit slow in using the kit. But then I discovered this recipe on My New Roots for a Raw Brownie.  The perfect opportunity to use some of my raw cacao, and boy was it good!  I also had some ground hazelnuts in the cupboard, so I used these instead of the walnuts, and I didn’t have quite enough dates, so added some juicy californian raisins.  And they were delicious – so delicious that I forgot to take a photo!  Still Sarah has gorgeous photos on My New Roots, so check them out, and treat yourself to some of these this Easter!

