I have to admit that I’ve only stopped off here for a late night coffee, but Le Train Bleu restaurant quickly became one of my favourite places.  Despite a rather unpromising location above the Gare de Lyon in Paris, it’s full of atmosphere, and transports you to another time and place, whilst leaving you feeling impossibly glamorous!  That’s quite an achievement for a cup of coffee and a couple of macaroons!

Open since 1901, the café claims Coco Chanel, Brigitte Bardot, Jean Cocteau,  Salvador Dali, Jean Gabin and Marcel Pagnol as regular customers.  The restaurant certainly lends itself to rendezvous of all kinds!

The main restaurant.

The main restaurant. (c) Le Train Bleu

I loved the old, rather beaten up furniture in the nook where we drank our coffee.

I loved the old, rather beaten up furniture in the nook where we drank our coffee.

Coffee and macaroons!

Coffee and macaroons!

 

Le Train Bleu, Gare de Lyon, Paris

