LeeksMarmalad

Having had a big bunch of leeks in my veg box, I couldn’t resist trying this curious sounding recipe.  I found it in a book I bought a while back in a second hand shop, ‘The Whole Earth Cookbook’ by Hilary Meth, (you can also get a copy on Amazon).

The book does feel like a flash from the past, using a lot of packaged and convenience foods in the recipes.  But I did rather like this recipe for leeks.  It was simple, a bit different, and went very well with some veggie sausages!

The original recipe called for the addition of soy milk, which I decided to leave out at the last minute, as I thought the dish looked complete without it.  Also I finished cooking in a casserole in the oven with the sausages, which I think gave it a slightly richer flavour, but you could manage without this step.

Leeks in Marmalade Sauce

2 medium leeks
170 ml water
3 tblsp marmalade
1 tablsp olive oil
Sea salt and black pepper

Preheat the oven to 170C.  Trim and carefully wash the leeks, then slice them into 5mm thick rounds.  Bring the water to a boil in a pan, then add the leeks.  Cover the pan and simmer the leeks for 3 – 4 minutes.

Add the marmalade and olive oil.  Season with salt and pepper.  Put the leeks in a small casserole, with the lid and cook in the oven for around 15 minutes.

